Roundup

The Thankful Crafter (DIY-Blog Roundup)

This year I have a lot to be thankful for. I’m about to start my senior year of college, I started a blog, I found some amazing thrift-shop buys and have some fun upcycling projects in the works; I have a wonderfully supportive/artistic boyfriend who actually goes craft store shopping with me, and I have a wonderful family who helps this poor college student with everything they can to help me reach my dreams. And on top of all of these amazing things, there are some incredible craft-bloggers out there that keep inspiring me to try new things! As a crafter myself, I’m super thankful for awesome tutorials and craft ideas from my fellow bloggers out there.

So today I’d like to share 5 crafting blog posts that have helped inspire me, and I hope will inspire you. These blogs have a plethora of awesome crafting ideas and I recommend that you take the time to look through their other material and follow them, but here’s a taste of a few of my favorite projects!


Decoupage Christmas Ornaments

From BluKatKraft

Decoupage ornament

I love a good Christmas craft, especially one that is easy and cheap to make, and these ornaments are just that. They use decoupaging (a process I’ve recently tried and absolutely love doing), to create an elegant-looking ornament to add to your Christmas tree or to give as beautiful, personalized gifts. I personally can’t wait to make these!

This craft comes from BluKatKraft: a “blog about handmade, craft, art, Etsy, food and anything else creative.” It also features handmade, upcycled jewelry that can be purchased from BluKatDesign on Etsy, as well as some amazing tutorials to make your own pieces.


Lacey Boot Socks

From GIRL POWER MAGAZINE

 

I love the look of the frilly boot socks I keep seeing everywhere, and this is an extremely simple way to reproduce it without any sewing! I am not much of sewer myself so I’m excited to try out this idea, especially since I’m looking to get into some clothing upcycling projects in the near future!

This tutorial was posted from GIRL POWER MAGAZINE (video by Shannon Sullivan). So this is a little bit of a two-for because I recommend checking out both of these sources. For more awesome tutorial videos and information about gluten-free living, wellness and beauty follow Shannon on Twitter, or her Youtube channel.

GIRL POWER MAGAZINE “is full of 100% positivity for tween and teen girls. Being confident is a key element to getting through the tough years of growing up and girls can always use a little peer-to-peer mentorship from a girl who’s not afraid to blaze her own path resisting the tough pressures of today’s media driven society. Lauren Galley, Editor in Chief and President of Girls Above Society wants you to be empowered so you can be your very own superhero!” (excerpt from GIRL POWER MAGAZINE “About” page) I recommend checking it out for all crafters out there, especially the teen crafters, because there is an extensive collection of projects in their DIY category.


34 Insanely Cool and Easy DIY Project Tutorials

from WooHome

Easy-And-Cheap-DIY-Projects-0

This article has a collection of a few of my favorite easy DIY projects including “FireFlies in a Jar.” These are all projects with only a few supplies needed and most could be done in minutes. I love quick and easy!

WooHome is a web magazine that posts frequently on home and furniture ideas. Their extensive DIY Archive has an awesome collection of some the best tutorials to be found online and is a great resource for any crafter.


DIY Floral Sunglasses

From Honestly WTF


floralsunnies

I almost bought a pair of hippie-esque sunglasses outlined with adorable ceramic flowers this past summer, but I didn’t even think to make them myself! This simple and unique idea is on my must-craft list! I absolutely love them.

Honestly WTF has extremely unique DIY ideas, especially fashion-related projects, in addition to their collections of fashion and home decor ideas. It’s another great resource for the DIY-er and anyone interested in fashion and design.


Paint and Paper Upcycle

from Wee Magpie

img_54761_thumb

This is a quick idea, that shows how easy it can be to upcycle an old piece into something pretty and display your own creativity. With a few coats of paint and some wrapping paper, Wee Magpie gave new life to an old, unused piece. I recently upcycled an old wooden chair and actually have a wooden nightstand and dresser I picked up on the side of the road, that I’m getting ready to upcycle and this post was an inspiration to me. It gave me an awesome starting-off point for my own projects and reminded me that being creative, even with intimidatingly large pieces, doesn’t have to be difficult.

Wee Magpie is a blog on WordPress that, while not frequently updated recently, has some amazing DIY ideas that serve as a great starting point for getting creative.


I hope you’ll take the time to follow these fellow bloggers who have inspired me to get creative this year and get inspired yourself to DIY!

I’d love to hear what some of your favorite blogs and DIY tutorials are as well! If you have any favorites you are thankful for this year, comment with a link so we can all enjoy!

And as always I love to see your projects!  Feel free to post pictures here or on Instagram with the hashtag #mycrafterglow and tag me, @TheCrafterglow, so I can share in the Crafterglow with you!

2 thoughts on “The Thankful Crafter (DIY-Blog Roundup)

Leave a comment