DIY · Food

Put a Fork in It

I have been slacking on the crafting lately, although I do have some good things in the works to share with you all! In the meantime I’ve been working really hard on getting in shape at the gym and cooking healthy recipes. Chris and I have been experimenting with cauliflower-based recipes, and I just HAD to share with you a recipe that we tried the past couple weekends-because just once wasn’t enough!

We made cauliflower-crust pizza! I know the skeptics out there are thinking “Why the heck would you mess with the perfection of pizza?” Trust me, I agree. Pizza is one of my favorite things about life itself, but my love is so great that I can easily eat the whole pie. So with my appetite, I’ve been looking for a healthier alternative to the carb-loaded crust that I love.

I’m not a big cauliflower fan on its own, but seasoned and topped with cheesy goodness, this cauliflower-crust was actually quite tasty. I will warn you ahead of time that this crust is not as firm as a normal dough-crust so you will need to eat it with a fork- but trust me, it’s worth it!

Here’s the recipe for the pizza we made, but feel free to change it up and top it any way you like!

*This recipe made a small-medium pizza that was enough for 2 (and we ate large portions). I’ve seen similar recipes that say this is actually 4-6 servings- like I said I eat a lot of pizza!

Ingredients for crust:

  • cauliflower (1 large head, coarsely chopped)
  • garlic powder
  • 1 egg
  • rosemary (or seasoning of choice)
  • 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Ingredients for topping:

  • spinach
  • teaspoon of chopped garlic (or garlic powder)
  • shredded mozzarella cheese
  • grated Parmesan cheese
  • Alfredo sauce (optional)
  • shrimp (optional)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.

Put the chopped cauliflower into a food processor until it’s about the consistency and size of rice (or you can use a box grater to make small crumbles). Then place the cauliflower in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for 7-8 minutes until it is soft.

This next step is the key to making the crust as firm and chewy as possible: remove as much liquid as you can from the microwaved cauliflower. This can be done by wrapping it in a dish towel and squeezing the liquid from it. The more liquid you get out of it, the better!

Now take your cauliflower and mix it in a bowl with your egg, 1/4 cup of Parmesan, 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella, garlic powder and rosemary (or other seasonings). Once mixed to a somewhat doughy consistency, form your pizza crust. This should be done on parchment paper (I put it directly on a pizza stone with a slight brush of olive oil, but it did stick a bit to the stone). Place the parchment paper and crust onto your pizza stone or pan and bake for about 8-10 minutes- should start to look nice and golden brown.

At this point you are ready to top the pizza! This can be done anyway you like, but for our pizza we topped it with a couple large spoonfuls of canned Alfredo sauce, and some steamed spinach with garlic (while the crust baked we threw a few handfuls of spinach in a pan with some chopped garlic). We happened to have some amazing seasoned steamed shrimp on hand that weekend so we peeled a few and threw them on top as well!

Throw the pizza back in the over for another 5 or so minutes, and there you have it!

11021509_10206123107020350_7862295058414900577_o

 

This came out phenomenally, and I think even the pickiest eaters will enjoy this recipe- just don’t tell them its cauliflower! 🙂

Leave a Reply

