DIY · Food

Just a Load of Crock-pot

So I wanted to share something a little different with you guys in this post. This weekend I made a Turkey Veggie Chili packed with color, flavor, and veggies!  It’s a crock-pot meal- can I just say that I love the slow-cooker! It does all the hard work for me which I am completely ok with. I know this isn’t the sort of thing I usually post, but I figured this is a great DIY that can be good for the whole family to make and most-importantly EAT! Also this recipe is totally malleable to fit any taste or needs.

Veggie Chili 2

This weekend I spent most of my time at the produce store as well as the grocery store loading up on quick, healthy choices I can eat throughout the week. I’m starting to try and prepare my weekly meals so that I stick to a more healthy routine rather than running to the drive-through when I’m short on cash and time. So this week I decided to put together crock-pot chili that I could pack for meals all week. I also made a pot of brown rice and mashed-cauliflower to eat it over. The mashed cauliflower was a super tasty idea, and with the chili on top it was a super healthy comfort food that reminded me of shepherd’s pie! **Here’s a link for a recipe for super-easy mashed cauliflower from Skinny Ms.

I don’t want to give an exact recipe, cause honestly I tweaked it as I went, and I’m not exactly sure how much of everything ended up going into it, but that’s the awesome thing with this meal- it’s very tweak-able! Also, the amounts I used were to fill two 4-quart crock pots and one smaller one because I was cooking prepared meals for the week for two people. Feel free to put as little or as much as you’d like and you can sort of taste and add ingredients as it cooks.

What I used:

  • ground lean turkey (browned)Veggie Chili
  • tomato puree
  • canned crushed tomatoes
  • yellow squash
  • red and yellow peppers
  • mushrooms
  • green beans
  • kidney beans
  • black beans
  • carrots
  • onions
  • celery
  • minced garlic
  • cumin
  • chili powder

Optional:

  • Sriracha sauce

It’s really very simple to do. Start by browning the ground turkey and chopping all the veggies into small pieces (how small is up to your own preference). I pretty much added an even amount of all the vegetables. Then put the cooked ground turkey in the crockpot along with all the chopped veggies, and about 1/3 of a 28-ounce can of Tomato Puree and 1/3 of a 28-ounce can of crushed tomatoes (these amounts would be for a full 4-quart crockpot). Also season with minced garlic, cumin and chili powder, and if you’d want an extra kick add a couple squirts of Sriracha sauce. Then cook for about 6-8 hours on low. I personally was in a little bit of a rush so I started with it on high for a good 2-3 hours then turned it on low for another couple hours. There isn’t any raw meat involved, so there’s no danger tasting along the way and adding some more Puree or seasonings (which I did along the way).

This came out so flavorful and I just love how versatile it is. It makes a great vegetarian meal, minus the ground turkey for a vegetarian option, or if you aren’t worried about the lean protein you can always add ground beef for a more traditional chili flavor. Just as I say with crafting and upcycling projects, don’t be afraid to be creative and make this recipe your own! As always Instagram or Tweet your results and pictures with the hashtag #myCrafterglow so we can all bask in the crafterglow together!

Leave a Reply

