New Year · Other · Personal Thoughts · Recap

A new year to DIY!

I just picked up this adorable ornament on New Year’s Day, January 1, 2015 along with Chris, to commemorate an amazing past year of thrift-shopping and upcycling and in anticipation of what’s to come and wanted to share it with you guys!

ornament

I know I’m a little late with this post, but I just wanted to recap this past year of DIY-ing. I have to say it has been an eventful year for me. From meeting Chris, my DIY counterpart, to getting this blog up and running, 2014 has been exciting and successful.

I have found some of my favorite yard-sale and thrift-shop buys this year, like the $1 wooden chair I decoupaged with comics!

1601473_10206704075744205_5745378842287525914_n

I’ve also found some awesome bloggers/blog posts that inspired me, some of which I shared in my Thanksgiving Roundup post. And most excitingly I finally followed through with creating The Crafterglow and got my Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram up and going for it!

Some of my favorite crafts to do are those that incorporate something old and unused and give it new life by making it into something new and pretty. I’ve been able to do this with pieces I’ve picked up at yard sales, on the side of the road, and at thrift shops, as well as with things in my own home. One of my favorite crafts this year was done with various wine glasses I had gathered (and continue to gather) due to my over-enthusiasm for wine tasting. I was able to upcycle them into candle holders that made an easy, beautiful gift!

IMG_20141008_195250_540-1

As successful as this year has been, I’m so looking forward to this new year! I have so many projects in the works that I absolutely can not wait to share with you! I don’t want to give them all away, but I’m most excited to upcycle a nightstand I found on the side of the road! I have so many ideas brewing for it already! And appropriately I spent this first weekend of 2015 thrift-shopping and have some great finds to share with you soon!

What I most look forward to, though, is interacting with more readers and fellow crafters! I hope to hear from you and to bask in the crafterglow along with you! I’m looking forward to creating a section of the blog dedicated to your pictures and attempts at the projects I’ve shared on here, so, as always, make sure to Instagram and Tweet your pictures with the hashtag #mycrafterglow!

Happy New Year! Keep striving for that crafterglow!

Leave a Reply

